Chemo Drug Mix-Up Leaves Leukemia Patient Paralyzed, Jury Awards $18.56 Million
After trial: A high-low agreement entered before trial caps what Weck actually recovers below the jury's $18,564,000 figure. Defense counsel Craig Combs Jr. confirmed the agreement to the New Jersey Law Journal, but its terms were not reported, so the collected sum is not public. No appeal of the verdict has been found.
Won by Eichen Crutchlow Zaslow, LLP.
A pharmacist three months into her probationary period at a New Jersey hospital let a spinal-toxic chemotherapy drug mix into a leukemia patient's intrathecal dose during what was supposed to be his final treatment, leaving him permanently paralyzed from the waist down. A Middlesex County jury found the pharmacist at fault and held the hospital liable for her conduct, while clearing the oncologist who gave the injections. Jurors awarded the patient $18,564,000, including $17.5 million for pain and suffering. Defense counsel told the New Jersey Law Journal that a high-low agreement entered before trial would reduce what the patient actually recovers; the figure was not reported.
What happened
On May 15, 2001, Anton Weck went to St. Peter's University Hospital in New Brunswick, New Jersey, for what was supposed to be his final chemotherapy treatment for leukemia. He had gone through the same procedure many times before without incident: an intravenous dose of vincristine and a separate injection of methotrexate directly into his spinal canal. This time, Eun Mi Jhun, a pharmacist on three months' probation with essentially no experience preparing chemotherapy agents, let the two drugs mix instead of keeping them apart. Vincristine is toxic to the spinal cord. Methotrexate is the drug meant to go there.
Within two weeks, Weck lost all feeling in his legs. Later testing at John F. Kennedy Medical Center in Edison found vincristine in his spinal cord, according to his attorney, William Levinson. The hospital and Jhun denied that the drugs had been mixed improperly, but the damage was already done. Weck was left permanently paralyzed from the waist down.
Weck sued St. Peter's University Hospital, Jhun, and Vishwas Sakahalkar, the oncologist who gave the injections, in Superior Court, Middlesex County. Judge Phillip Paley presided over a trial that ran three weeks. After two days of deliberation, the jury found Jhun at fault for the mixing error and held the hospital liable for her conduct under the doctrine of respondeat superior. Jurors returned no cause against Sakahalkar.
In March 2006 the jury awarded Weck $18,564,000: $17.5 million for pain and suffering, $518,000 for future lost wages, $475,500 for future medical expenses, and $70,500 for past lost wages. William Levinson and William Crutchlow of Eichen Levinson & Crutchlow in Edison, the firm now known as Eichen Crutchlow Zaslow, represented Weck. St. Peter's and Jhun were insured by Princeton Insurance Co. and defended at trial by Craig Combs Jr. of Giblin & Combs in Morristown.
Combs told the New Jersey Law Journal that the parties had entered a high-low agreement before trial that would reduce the recovery. The amount of that agreement was not reported, so what Weck actually collected is not public. No appeal of the verdict has surfaced in the years since. At the time of the verdict Weck was 25 and working as a technician at the Middlesex County Cerebral Palsy Association.
Sources
This account is drawn from contemporaneous public reporting and the court record.
- 1.New Jersey Law Journal, Suits and Deals verdict column, April 3, 2006: establishes Weck v. Jhun, the $18.56 million Middlesex County verdict and its damages breakdown, presiding Judge Phillip Paley, the jury's findings against Jhun and the hospital and no cause against oncologist Vishwas Sakahalkar, plaintiff's attorney William Levinson of Eichen Levinson & Crutchlow in Edison, defense counsel Craig Combs Jr. of Giblin & Combs, insurer Princeton Insurance Co., and the pre-trial high-low agreement.
- 2.MoreLaw verdict database entry, Anton Weck v. Saint Peter's University Hospital and Eun Mi Jhun, docket L-5106-02, Superior Court, Middlesex County: corroborates the caption, docket number, the approximately $18.5 million verdict and the $17.5 million pain and suffering component, and names William Levinson and William Crutchlow of Eichen, Levinson & Crutchlow as plaintiff's counsel.
- 3.Eichen Crutchlow Zaslow, LLP (firm)
More proven verdicts from Eichen Crutchlow Zaslow, LLP
All Eichen Crutchlow Zaslow, LLP proven verdicts →Daryl L. Zaslow of Eichen Crutchlow Zaslow settled a hypoxic-ischemic encephalopathy birth injury case for $17,000,000, a portion of which purchased annuities that carry guaranteed payments of $18,502,301 and anticipated payments of $28,700,273. Judge James Den Uyl approved the terms on January 3, 2025.
A 69-year-old Newark woman walking with a friend past a Save Smart store was thrown to the sidewalk and suffered a subdural hematoma when a store employee chasing a fleeing shoplifting suspect ran into her. An Essex County jury found the retailer, which had sent five untrained employees out the door after the suspect, fully responsible for her injuries. On January 15, 2025, the jury unanimously awarded $8 million, all of it for pain and suffering. No appeal has been reported.
Related medical malpractice verdicts
A Utah judge entered a $951 million default judgment against Steward Health Care after newly trained nurses, an excessive Pitocin drip, and a delayed C-section at Jordan Valley Medical Center left a newborn permanently brain damaged.
A Gainesville jury awarded $900 million, including $700 million in punitive damages, to stroke survivor Joseph Webb over neglect at the University Place Care and Rehabilitation Center, in a Wilkes & McHugh case tried against defaulted Trans Healthcare entities with no defense present, but Florida's First District Court of Appeal reversed the judgment in 2013 because the trial court had refused to let a defense lawyer appear, and the money was never collected; the estate's claim was later resolved for a small share of a multi-estate bankruptcy settlement.
A Clark County jury ordered Health Plan of Nevada and Sierra Health Services to pay $524 million after finding the UnitedHealth Group subsidiaries negligently credentialed a gastroenterologist whose unsafe injection practices at his Las Vegas endoscopy clinics caused the largest medically caused hepatitis C outbreak in American history.
A Kansas City jury awarded ovarian cancer patient Georgia Hayes $225 million in compensatory damages and $2 billion in punitive damages against pharmacist Robert Courtney, who had diluted chemotherapy drugs for profit. The trial judge later reduced the award to roughly $330 million, and Hayes collected almost nothing from Courtney himself, whose assets had been seized by the federal government. Courtney was sentenced to 30 years in federal prison, and drug makers Eli Lilly and Bristol-Myers Squibb later paid $71 million to settle victims' claims.