Nebraska Supreme Court Affirms Permanent Total Disability for Truck Driver Under Odd-Lot Doctrine
Won by Rensch and Rensch.
The Nebraska Supreme Court upheld a permanent total disability award for a truck driver whose 2009 rollover on an Interstate 680 on-ramp in Omaha combined with pre-existing mental and cognitive impairments left him unable to compete in any regular branch of the labor market.
What happened
On April 16, 2009, Bryant Gardner was driving a semitrailer for International Paper Destruction and Recycling when he failed to negotiate the circular entrance ramp onto Interstate 680 in Omaha. The truck rolled. Gardner was briefly knocked unconscious and suffered injuries to his head, neck, and lower back.
Medical workup revealed disk protrusions at the C4-5 and C5-6 levels of his cervical spine, along with a closed head injury that produced temporary cognitive deficits. Treatment included epidural injections, which resulted in a cerebrospinal fluid leak. By July 2012 his condition had deteriorated to the point where surgeons performed a cervical fusion. Throughout this period Gardner also contended with pre-existing depression, anxiety, sleep apnea, and learning difficulties.
Richard J. Rensch and Sean P. Rensch of Rensch and Rensch Law filed a workers' compensation claim on Gardner's behalf. The Nebraska Workers' Compensation Court issued an initial award in September 2010 covering temporary total and temporary partial disability at $403.67 per week. After the employer sought to modify that award and the parties litigated the extent of any permanent impairment, the compensation court issued a further award on August 8, 2014, finding Gardner permanently and totally disabled at $427.73 per week.
The court applied the odd-lot doctrine, a rule that covers workers who are not entirely incapacitated but are so handicapped by a combination of physical injury and other limitations that no stable employment market will regularly hire them. The compensation court weighed Gardner's post-fusion physical restrictions alongside the continuing psychiatric and cognitive reports of two treating physicians, Drs. Golnick and Rich, to reach that conclusion.
International Paper appealed to the Nebraska Supreme Court, arguing that the law-of-the-case doctrine barred any consideration of Gardner's mental health history because an earlier ruling had found his pre-existing cognitive deficits were only temporarily aggravated by the accident. The Supreme Court rejected that reading. The justices held that the original finding addressed a transient aggravation, not a permanent conclusion about Gardner's underlying mental health conditions, and those conditions remained squarely relevant to a later determination of his long-term employability. On July 17, 2015, the Nebraska Supreme Court affirmed the compensation court's award in full, leaving the $427.73 weekly permanent total disability benefit intact.
Sources
This account is drawn from contemporaneous public reporting and the court record.
More proven verdicts from Rensch and Rensch
All Rensch and Rensch proven verdicts →The Nebraska Supreme Court affirmed a $34,000 jury verdict for Terry W. Pitt, an Omaha chef who sustained a 20-to-25-percent permanent impairment to his body as a whole after a Checker Cab struck his vehicle while he was making a left turn near 22nd Street and Chandler Road in Bellevue.
The Nebraska Supreme Court reversed a post-verdict judgment for the defense and reinstated a $25,000 jury award for a patron beaten at an after-hours Ranch Bowl dance, holding that a venue with three fights per night cannot call a restroom attack unforeseeable.
The Nebraska Supreme Court reversed a directed verdict for the defense in Mary Cohan's delayed breast-cancer diagnosis case, ordering a new trial against the radiology and OB/GYN providers responsible for misreading her 2009 mammogram.
The Nebraska Supreme Court reversed a trial court ruling and held that when an employer denies a workers' compensation claim, the employee is not bound by the normal chain-of-referral rules for choosing physicians, and the employer must pay for all medical treatment later found to be compensable.
Related workplace injury verdicts
After nearly 30 years of litigation, Markovits Stock and DeMarco secured a $742 million-plus-interest settlement for approximately 23,000 Navistar retirees whose healthcare and life insurance benefits had been repeatedly reduced.
Paul Napoli served as court-appointed co-liaison counsel for nearly 10,000 firefighters, police officers, and construction workers who developed respiratory diseases after working at Ground Zero, securing a settlement worth up to $712.5 million against the city and its contractors.
Jose Valdivia, 25, was building scaffolding at the Phillips 66 refinery in Lake Charles when a co-worker above him lost his grip on a steel scaffold bar. It struck him on the head and spine through a hard hat and full protective equipment. He is in a wheelchair with limited speech. Brock never reported the accident to OSHA.
On September 7, 2019, Ulysses Cruz, a 48-year-old United Airlines ramp worker serving as a wing walker at George Bush Intercontinental Airport, was struck from behind by an Allied Aviation Fueling Company of Houston van whose driver said the morning sun was in his eyes. Cruz was paralyzed from the chest down and suffered a stroke two days later that cost him the use of his dominant right arm. After a two-week trial before Judge Ravi Sandill, a Harris County jury on October 25, 2021 found Allied 70 percent and driver Reginald Willis 30 percent at fault and awarded Cruz, his wife and their two children $352.7 million in compensatory damages. Judge Sandill conditioned denial of a new trial on a $117.5 million remittitur of noneconomic damages, which the family accepted, and an amended judgment of about $235.3 million was signed February 7, 2022. Allied appealed, the parties reached a confidential mediated settlement, and on July 18, 2023 the First Court of Appeals vacated the judgment and dismissed the case at the parties' joint request.